Never Say Never - Ian McLagan and The Bump Band

Produced by Ian McLagan

Maniac Records’ eighth release from Ian McLagan & the Bump Band features Scrappy Jud Newcomb on guitars & vocals, Mark Andes on bass & vocals, Don Harvey on drums,  and Ian Mac McLagan on vocals, piano, electric piano & Hammond B3. Produced, engineered and written by Mac, they are a band of producers, writers and players.

In December 2007 Glyn Johns, Mac's old pal from Small Faces and Faces days, mixed and mastered Never Say Never at Sphere Studios in London. The self produced and directed album features McLagan’s award winning Bump Band, and includes all original songs. Patty Griffin graces Never Say Never with her soulful vocals and she and the Tosca Strings can be heard on the final track, the heart wrenching When The Crying Is Over. McLagan recorded and produced Never Say Never at The Doghouse Studios in Manor, Texas, and recorded Where Angels Hide on the Steinway in The Edythe Bates Old Chapel at The International Festival-Institute in Round Top, Texas.

Never Say Never was released by 00:02:59 Records (US/Canada) and Proper Records (UK/Europe). It’s also available at, iTunes, and

Track Listing:

1. Never Say Never

2. Little Black Number

3. I Will Follow

4. Where Angels Hide

5. Killing Me With Love

6. An Innocent Man

7. My Irish Rose

8. I’m Hot, You’re Cool

9. Loverman

10. When The Crying is Over


  • Ian McLagan: Vocals, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, Hammond B3 organ
  • Scrappy Jud Newcomb: Electric and acoustic guitars & vocals
  • Mark Andes: Bass & vocals
  • Don Harvey: Drums


Patty Griffin: Vocals (1, 8, 9, 10)
George Reiff: Ukulele & bass (5)
Michael Longoria: Percussion (6, 7)
Michael Ramos: Trumpets (2)
Brian Standefer: Cellos (1)
Stephen Barber: String arrangement (10)
The Tosca Strings: Leigh Mahoney: Violin; Tracy Seeger: Violin; Ames Asbell: Viola; Sara Nelson: Cello (10)

Never Say Never mixes mischief and heartbreak, dancing on the bar and crying in your beer, in perfect proportion.”
Bill Flanagan, CBS Sunday Morning

“Sizzling Platter of the Year!”
Jeffrey Morgan, Creem Magazine & Detroit Metro Times

Pub rock’s answer to Blood On The Tracks” - Mojo Magazine

You can’t fake the kind of soul Mac’s got. He’s lived every fun-loving, glorious and painful note of it, and to me, that’s what makes his music the thing of beauty and strength that it is. We are so lucky to have it in our midst.” - Patty Griffin