Best of British - Ian Mclagan and The Bump Band

Best of British is Ian McLagan's third solo album, and the first album he recorded after moving to Austin Texas. Produced by Gurf Morlix at Arlyn Studios, the Bump Band consisted of Scrappy Jud Newcomb on guitars & vocals, Sarah Brown on bass & vocals, Don Harvey on drums, Gurf on guitars & vocals, and Mac on Hammond B3, pianos, guitars & vocals. Ronnie Wood added guitars, to ‘This Time’, and sang on ‘Hello Old Friend’, and Billy Bragg sang with Mac on the title track, a tribute to his son, Lee.

The album was executive produced by his former bandmate, Ronnie Wood, who is featured on three tracks, including “She Stole It!”, the cautionary tale of a man, his woman and his record collection, and the ode to their departed Face, Ronnie Lane, “Hello Old Friend”.

Released on March 7, 2000 on Gadfly Records, Re-released on Maniac Records

produced by Gurf Morlix

Track listing

All tracks composed by Ian McLagan; except where indicated

1.  “Best of British”

2.  “I Only Wanna Be With You”

3. “She Stole It!”

4.  “Warm Rain”

5.  “Hope Street” (Ian McLagan/Jorge Calderón)

6.  “Hello Old Friend”

7.  “Big Love”

8.  “Don’t Let Him Out of Your Sight”

9.  “Suzie Gotta Sweet Face” (3:35)

10.  “Barking Dogs” (Ian McLagan/Jorge Calderón) (3:56)

11.  “I Will Follow” (3:51)

12.  “This Time” (Ian McLagan/Jorge Calderón) (3:33)


  • Ian McLagan: Vocals, Hammond organ, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano & rhythm guitar
  • Scrappy Jud Newcomb: Guitars & vocals
  • Sarah Brown: Bass & vocal
  • Don Harvey: Drums & percussion
  • Gurf Morlix: Guitars & vocal


  • Ronnie Wood: Guitars, dobro & vocal (3, 6, 12)
  • Deborah Kelly: Vocal (4, 7, 8, 12)
  • Amy Boone: Vocal (4, 8, 12)
  • Billy Bragg: Vocal (1)
  • Akwana Nflembele & The Jumbahkum Singers: Vocals (7)